The month of August always brings with it a rush of mixed emotions inside my head. When I was a kid it was “Who will be my teacher?” and “Will I have any friends in my class?” And “I can’t wait for school to start!”   As an adult and a teacher those old feelings return with “How will I be ready on time?” and “Did all of my books arrive?” and “I can’t wait for school to start!” A new school year is really about new beginnings. It is also about rethinking and reflecting on our practices. This morning I read this short blog from Betsy Hubbard where she shares how she rethought about using Interactive Writing in her classroom. She pulled out her old notions about Interactive Writing, rethought and reflected, and discovered a way to make it fit into her daily practice. A new beginning!

Interactive Writing: Don’t Close the Door.

